Vegan Veggie Pizza

August 21, 2009

Wait, what? I actually had a hard time finding the recipe I was looking for, as a search for that mostly turned up variations on “put vegetables on a pizza crust”. Thanks, internet. I eventually had to try searching for “that pizza that’s got cream cheese on it” or some variation of that.

Now, I’m not vegan myself, but a good chunk of our LAN crew is. Including the guy who’s letting us crash at his house for several days. So I thought it only fair to make food that everybody can eat. In case you’re interested in making it yourself, here’s a recipe – with photos! It is easily un-veganized if you’re interested in doing it that way, but it tastes pretty much exactly the same to me.

Step one: Set up tunes. I’ve been on an old, crusty punk kick lately, but you do what you want.

Step two: Unroll Pillsbury crescent rolls (one package) into pizza-crust-like shape and bake accordingly.
082109

Step three: Chop up vegetables. Lots of vegetables. I used about a cup of broccoli, a handful of baby carrots, maybe a quarter of a tomato, 1/2 cup of peppers. I prefer chopping up the broccoli until it looks like grass clippings, like so:

bonus713

I love red peppers, and pretty much put them in everything. If you have some kind of pepper allergy, don’t eat at my house.
bonus714

Step four: I couldn’t find soy cheese in the shredded variety. So I bought the cheddar slices, and cut them up. Yes, seriously. I used about 3 slices for this.

Step five: Mix up a packet of ranch dressing mix (I found some weird organic brand at Giant Eagle), with faux cream cheese. I ended up with Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese, which is not kidding. It’s awesome.

Step six: Assemble! Cream cheese mixture, then vegetables and cheese all over it.

This is my finished product:

bonus715

And in the context of my now insanely messy kitchen:

bonus716

Leave a Reply

