Leaving on a Jet Plane

May 22, 2010

We’re on the road again! Well, not just yet, but soon! Most travel sites advise you not to announce vacations on the internet, but my neighbor has quite a lot of shotguns. Shouldn’t be a problem.

John and I are spending a week in Europe. I’m mostly tying up loose ends, getting copies of the passports, and figuring out how to one-bag it. When I went to Costa Rica (for two weeks), everyone seemed absolutely shocked by how little I brought. “Holy crap, you packed less than the boys!” I was brought up in a family where if you brought it, you hauled it, so I’ve always packed on the light side. I’ve never once thought to myself, “Man, I wish I had more crap to haul around.” And a few times, like when I’ve had a tight connection, or landed in New York with no hotel reservation, I’ve been pretty grateful for the extra mobility. This time, though, I have the added challenge of having to fly with my IV medications. There’s a lot of “stuff” involved, but I think I can make it work with minimal hassle.

We also haven’t planned much as far as what we’ll be doing when we get there, so we’ll be kind of winging it. I’ll be picking up a guide book soon, and pick out a few things we’d like to see. But if you’ve done some traveling in the area yourself, we’re open to suggestions!

A post is less fun with no photos, so these are all the first image that came up in a search for me (at least, with the creative commons filter on). We’ll be making stops in…

Barcelona

 

Monte Carlo

 

Florence

 

Pisa

 

Rome

 

Naples

 

Palma

 

Of course, I’ll have plenty of photos of my own when we get back.

One Response to “Leaving on a Jet Plane”

  1. […] Back in May, John and I took a trip to Europe. I posted a ton of photos on Facebook, but wanted to post them here as well, travel journal style. […]

Leave a Reply

