Brian & Jody

December 7, 2011

I’ve had a few couples ask me whether or not they needed a second photographer for their wedding. There are a lot of factors that go into deciding on that, but I thought it would help if I could show what the benefits are. I got to shoot Brian and Jody’s wedding along with Alisa, from Alisa Garin Photography.

First off, I’m still bound by the basic laws of physics, and can’t be in two places at once. Having a second photographer means that while I’m off with the girls shooting these…

 

 

 

 

Alisa was off with the boys shooting these.

 

 

And by the way, LOVE this shot. Love.

 

Even when we are in the same room, you get a different angle on the same action. Brian and Jody wanted to see each other before the ceremony, but still wanted it to be a surprise. So we set up a first look. I got this angle:

 

While Alisa got this one:

 

Again, while I was shooting this portrait:

 

Alisa got this one:

 

 

 

 

While I was occupied with shooting some family formals, Alisa grabbed this shot:

 

There’s one in every bunch.

 

 

 

Brian’s mother wasn’t able to make it to the ceremony, so one of the guests Skyped the whole thing.

 

In addition to another angle, you also get a different style and point of view from having a second photographer. This one’s Alisa’s.

 

Mine on the left, Alisa’s on the right.

 

I got the kiss from this angle…

 

Alisa from this one.

 

They had a lot of really cute details at the ceremony. They’d set up a station where people could do some coloring…

 

… used shutters to hold their place cards…

 

… and had a really cute cake topper, which they later re-enacted.

 

They’d set up a laptop so that Brian’s family could watch the reception, too. Photo by Alisa.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Jody told me to get my camera ready, and then this happened.

 

 

 

So, to recap:
PROS: More photos, different angles, different style, and getting shots from different events at the same time.
CONS: Does increase your cost, and I suppose if your ceremony was in an especially tiny venue, may not be necessary.

 

 

Ceremony: First Baptist Church, Washington, PA
Reception: Doubletree Meadowlands, Washington, PA
Caterer/Baker: Doubletree
Flowers: Malone’s Flower Shop, Canonsburg, PA
Dress: Sorelle Bridal, Washington, PA
DJ: Elite Signature DJs
Makeup/Hair: Sorelle Bridal, Washington, PA

 

 

See more on Facebook ·  See more weddings ·  Contact me

4 Responses to “Brian & Jody”

  1. […] not only is Alisa an amazing photographer (she kindly second shot for me at Jody & Brian’s wedding, and of course shoots amazing work on her own) she also plays with Hot Metal Strings, an all female […]

  2. […] not only is Alisa an amazing photographer (she kindly second shot for me at Jody & Brian’s wedding, and of course shoots amazing work on her own) she also plays with Hot Metal Strings, an all female […]

  3. Great shots of this wedding. Do you work in the Chicago area primarily? Do you ever get out to the south suburbs? Plainfield – Naperville – Aurora area? I DJ weddings out that way and would love to recommend you as a photographer from time to time. Maybe we could help each other out?

    • mooreclick said

      Thanks! I actually shoot primarily in the Pittsburgh area, but I’m open to travel wherever. I’ve done weddings in Eastern PA, Maryland, West Virginia, and Kentucky so far. Always appreciate referrals, and I’d be happy to help you out if I can (always looking for good DJs).

Leave a Reply

