Music Monday: Diesel Club Lounge

February 13, 2012

Once, I was having a lot of trouble finding time to meet up with a client – our schedules just weren’t meshing at all. He suggested Friday, and I said “Man, I’m going to be at the Thrice show that night.” He said, “Me too!” So we met up at Diesel, at the Thrice show.

So I thought it would be as good a place as any to start my new feature: Music Mondays. I’ll be reviewing venues, profiling bands, showing photos, that sort of thing. What does that have to do with wedding photography? Basically nothing, but as I’ve mentioned on here once or twice, sometimes I shoot things that aren’t weddings. I used to post more personal goings on here, when I first started the blog. Not deep dark secrets personal, but things that didn’t technically have to do with business personal. And I’m gonna start bringing that back. Okay, here we go.

 

Diesel Club Lounge
1601 East Carson Street, Pittsburgh, PA

About the venue: Diesel’s been running for 5 years now, and hold club nights Thursday through Saturday. Concert calendar doesn’t seem to have any set days.

Event types: This place does the concert thing as well as the nightclub thing. I’ve never been much of a club kid, so I can’t say much on that end, but their calendar is pretty varied. Also, they do private events, if you’re looking to book that sort of thing.

Parking: I hate parking around East Carson Street more than anything in the world. You’re gonna want to leave a lot of time to circle the block.

 

 

 

Cool features: The photos that I managed to get at this show don’t really do it justice, but their lighting is really cool. Behind the stage, they have these huge light panels that they program in conjunction with the usual stage lights. Apparently, they also have the only cryogenics system in the city. I really have no idea what that means, but it sounds pretty badass.

Why I like it: This is going to be a recurring theme in whether or not I like a venue, but it’s good for short people. The stage is fairly high, so even from the floor the view of the stage is good. They also have a great balcony, but every time I’ve been there, it’s been 21+ only, so maybe remember to bring your ID (is this a problem other people have? Or am I the only idiot leaving mine at home?)

 

 

Next concert listed:
Thursday, February 2nd, Week 3 Battle of the Bands
Doors at 7:00, All Ages, $10
One Last Smile, Anthems of Apathy, Divider, My Final Heaven, Shattered Reflection, Condemn the Wicked, Slingshot Genius, Wearing the Inside Out

Have a band, venue, or music related event you’d like to see featured here? Leave a comment or send it over to info@mooreclick.com.

Leave a Reply

